

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT

PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL



FREETOWN

E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

21st July 2022

PRESS RELEASE



DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS FOR PARLIAMENTARY STAFF

The Department of Programs, Research and Partnership (DePReP) of the Parliament of Sierra Leone on Thursday 21/07/2022 awarded three staff members for their outstanding and dedicated service delivery.

The following staff members were awarded:

1. Best DePReP Staff - Juliana Sheku

2. 2nd Best Staff - Mrs. Esther Kamara and

3rd Best Staff - Pst. Paul Turay

In his statement, the Director of DePReP, Gilbert Nhabbay said the rationale behind the award is to keep in line with the governance management mindset of the Director General of Parliament, Madam Finda Frazer to ensure that staff members are motivated and supported to improve their job performance. According to him, the award is part of the management agenda and went on to recall the last Parliamentary Speaker's Award for staff members, adding his department intends to complement the former.

The Director said they would be administering that award twice every year and stated that in December they are going to conduct the same. He said out of twenty-one staff members six people were nominated and three emerged as the best staff for the period under review, through a fair process within the four unit under his purview. 'Everybody within the department voted" he disclosed. and went on to say the award was gender sensitive, emphasising that two female and one male staff received the various awards. According to him, the awards would provide some impetus for staff to improve on their departmental work delivery. He said the nature of the award is to motivate staff members and ensure that others emulate the same. He disclosed that their assessment is predicated on the completion of tasks on time, networking, and responsiveness to the needs of others.

The awardees received certificates of recognition, cash and they are expected to have lunch at the restaurant of their choice. He assured that, six of those that were nominated including those that emerged as recipients of the awards would gain more recognition and will receive favourable recommendations when opportunities are made available for the department. Apart from the 3 finalist, the other 3 nominees include Memuna Seiwoh, Sheku M. Kamara and Marie Kemoh.

Parliamentary and Public Relations Department Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278495023/+23276625960/+23278426851/+23278697776